Richie's Picks

Bastards of the Reagan Era (Stahlecker Selections) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781935536659
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! When you order, we'll contact you to confirm when we have it reserved for you.
Published: Four Way Books - September 29th, 2015

Bastards of the Reagan Era is a challenge, confronting realities that frame an America often made invisible. Within these poems, we see the city as distant lover, we hear “the sound that comes from all / the hurt & want that leads a man to turn his back to the world.” We see that and we see each reason why we return to what pains us.


The Luxe Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062852168
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! When you order, we'll contact you to confirm when we have it reserved for you.
Published: HarperTeen - July 3rd, 2018

The Luxe is the first book in the New York Times bestselling Luxe series by Anna Godbersen.


Yesterday Is History Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781492694342
Availability: Normally we can get this book to the store for you in a day or two. During the seasonal rush, this might not be possible.
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - February 2nd, 2021

A romantic, heart-felt, and whimsical novel about letting go of the past, figuring out what you want in your future, and staying in the moment before it passes you by.

Weeks ago, Andre Cobb received a much-needed liver transplant.


Passing Cover Image
By Nella Larsen, Emily Bernard (Introduction by), Thadious M. Davis (Notes by)
$14.00
ISBN: 9780142437278
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! When you order, we'll contact you to confirm when we have it reserved for you.
Published: Penguin Classics - February 4th, 2003

Nella Larsen's powerful, thrilling, and tragic tale about the fluidity of racial identity that continues to resonate today. A New York Times Editors’ Choice. Now a major motion picture starring Tessa Thompson and Alexander Skarsgård
 


Crush (Yale Series of Younger Poets) Cover Image
By Richard Siken, Louise Glück (Foreword by)
$18.00
ISBN: 9780300107890
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! When you order, we'll contact you to confirm when we have it reserved for you.
Published: Yale University Press - April 11th, 2005

Announcing the 2004 winner of the Yale Younger Poets competition, North America's oldest annual literary prize.

Richard Siken’s Crush, selected as the 2004 winner of the Yale Younger Poets prize, is a powerful collection of poems driven by obsession and love. Siken writes with ferocity, and his reader hurtles unstoppably with him.


Egghead: Or, You Can't Survive on Ideas Alone Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781455519132
Availability: Normally we can get this book to the store for you in a day or two. During the seasonal rush, this might not be possible.
Published: Grand Central Publishing - October 7th, 2014

A strange and charming collection of hilariously absurd poetry, writing, and illustration from one of today's most popular young comedians?Ķ


Never Let Me Go (Vintage International) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781400078776
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! When you order, we'll contact you to confirm when we have it reserved for you.
Published: Vintage - March 14th, 2006

From the winner of the Nobel Prize in Literature and author of the Booker Prize–winning novel The Remains of the Day comes a devastating novel of innocence, knowledge, and loss.
 


The Nickel Boys: A Novel Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780345804341
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! When you order, we'll contact you to confirm when we have it reserved for you.
Published: Anchor - June 30th, 2020

In this Pulitzer Prize-winning, New York Times bestselling follow-up to The Underground Railroad, Colson Whitehead brilliantly dramatizes another strand of American history through the story of two boys unjustly sentenced to a hellish reform school in Jim Crow-era Florida.
 


Love in Color: Mythical Tales from Around the World, Retold Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780063078499
Availability: Normally we can get this book to the store for you in a day or two. During the seasonal rush, this might not be possible.
Published: William Morrow - April 13th, 2021

“Perfection in short story form, I am in love with every single word Bolu Babalola has written.


Howl's Moving Castle (World of Howl #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780061478789
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! When you order, we'll contact you to confirm when we have it reserved for you.
Published: Greenwillow Books - April 22nd, 2008

Diana Wynne Jones's entrancing, classic fantasy novel is filled with surprises at every turn. 


Fun Home: A Family Tragicomic Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780618871711
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! When you order, we'll contact you to confirm when we have it reserved for you.
Published: Mariner Books - June 5th, 2007

CRITICALLY ACCLAIMED, NATIONAL BESTSELLER 
Time Magazine #1 Book of the Year • National Book Critics Circle Award Finalist • 
Winner of the Stonewall Book Award •  Double finalist for the Lambda Book Award 
Nominated for the 
GLAAD Medi


Pre-Order Now Badge
Brat: An '80s Story Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781538754276
Availability: Coming Soon - Please Pre-Order Now
Published: Grand Central Publishing - May 11th, 2021

Fans of Patti Smith's Just Kids and Rob Lowe's StoriesI Only Tell My Friends will love this beautifully written, entertaining, and emotionally honest memoir by an actor, director, and author who found his start as an 80s Brat pack member.
 Most people know Andrew McCarthy from his movie roles in Pretty in Pink, St.


Slaughterhouse-Five: The Graphic Novel Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781684156252
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! When you order, we'll contact you to confirm when we have it reserved for you.
Published: Archaia - September 15th, 2020

The first-ever graphic novel adaptation of Kurt Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse-Five, an American classic, is one of the world’s great anti-war books. 

An American classic and one of the world’s seminal antiwar books, Kurt Vonnegut’s Slaughterhouse-Five is faithfully presented in graphic novel form for the first time from Eisner Award-winning writer Ryan North (How to


My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She's Sorry: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501115073
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! When you order, we'll contact you to confirm when we have it reserved for you.
Published: Washington Square Press - April 5th, 2016

A charming, warmhearted novel from the author of the New York Times bestseller A Man Called Ove.

Elsa is seven years old and different. Her grandmother is seventy-seven years old and crazy—as in standing-on-the-balcony-firing-paintball-guns-at-strangers crazy. She is also Elsa’s best, and only, friend.