Palouse Anti-Racist Reading Group

Welcome to the Palouse Anti-Racist Reading Group and thank you for choosing BookPeople of Moscow! This season's selections are listed below for your easy access. A special 10% discount will be added to all applicable materials when you use the discount code that was provided with your reading list. Thank you for doing the work. Thank you for supporting these authors, publishers, and this local business. See you again next month!


PSA from BookPeople of Moscow about delivery and backordered titles:

BookPeople of Moscow has arranged with Swale for once a week deliveries to Palouse, where customers can pick up their books during Swale's business hours. Swale is located at 125 E Main, Palouse, WA; current hours are: Thur - Sat, 10a - 5p, or by appointment. www.swaleaway.com 

To choose this option please look for "Free Palouse Delivery" in your shipping options that you can choose once you have entered your shipping address.

The nation-wide demand for many of these titles is huge, which is good news. The publishers are in the process of getting the books reprinted and then sent out to our distributors. We have plenty of copies on backorder and will receive them as soon as they're available, so please rest assured that your orders for backordered books will be filled as soon as possible, and will not be canceled, lost, or unfulfilled. Thank you! Carol and staff


Autumn Selections:

Non-Fiction: The Yellow House by Sarah M. Broom

Fiction: Parable of the Sower by Octavia Butler

Young Adult: You Should See Me in a Crown by Leah Johnson 

Children (10+): American Street by Ibi Zoboi

Children (4-8): Bippity Bop Barbershop by Natasha Anastasia Tarpley

Children (2-5): We Are Water Protectors by Carole Lindstrom

Children (0-4): My Heart Fills With Happiness by Monique Gray Smith


Summer Selections:

Non-Fiction: Intimations by Zadie Smith

Workbook: My Grandmother’s Hands: Racialized Trauma and the Pathway to Mending 

Fiction: Native Son by Richard Wright

Young Adult: The Voting Booth by Brandy Colbert

Children (10+): The Stars Beneath Our Feet by David Barclay Moore

Children (4-8): Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly

Children (2-5): Catch that Chicken! by Atinuke

Children (0-4): Think Big, Little One by Vashti Harrison


 

The Yellow House: A Memoir (2019 National Book Award Winner) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780802149039
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! When you order, we'll contact you to confirm when we have it reserved for you.
Published: Grove Press - June 30th, 2020

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Winner of the 2019 National Book Award in Nonfiction

A brilliant, haunting and unforgettable memoir from a stunning new talent about the inexorable pull of home and family, set in a shotgun house in New Orleans East.


Parable of the Sower Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781538732182
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! When you order, we'll contact you to confirm when we have it reserved for you.
Published: Grand Central Publishing - April 30th, 2019

This acclaimed post-apocalyptic novel of hope and terror from an award-winning author "pairs well with 1984 or The Handmaid's Tale" and includes a foreword by N. K. Jemisin (John Green, New York Times).


You Should See Me in a Crown Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338503265
Availability: This book is in stock at the warehouse so we can get it for you within a few days.
Published: Scholastic Press - June 2nd, 2020

A Reese's Book Club YA Pick!

Liz Lighty has always believed she's too black, too poor, too awkward to shine in her small, rich, prom-obsessed midwestern town. But it's okay -- Liz has a plan that will get her out of Campbell, Indiana, forever: attend the uber-elite Pennington College, play in their world-famous orchestra, and become a doctor.


American Street Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780062473059
Availability: This book is in stock at the warehouse so we can get it for you within a few days.
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 1st, 2018

A National Book Award Finalist with five starred reviews and multiple awards!

American Street is an evocative and powerful coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Everything, Everything; Bone Gap; and All American Boys.


Bippity Bop Barbershop Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316033824
Availability: This book is in stock at the warehouse so we can get it for you within a few days.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - January 1st, 2009

In this companion book to the bestselling I Love My Hair, a young boy, Miles, makes his first trip to the barbershop with his father. Like most little boys, he is afraid of the sharp scissors, the buzzing razor, and the prospect of picking a new hairstyle.


We Are Water Protectors Cover Image
By Carole Lindstrom, Michaela Goade (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250203557
Availability: This book is in stock at the warehouse so we can get it for you within a few days.
Published: Roaring Brook Press - March 17th, 2020

Inspired by the many Indigenous-led movements across North America, We Are Water Protectors issues an urgent rallying cry to safeguard the Earth’s water from harm and corruptiona bold and lyrical picture book written by Carole Lindstrom and vibrantly illustrated by Michaela Goade.

Water is the first medicine.
It affects and connects us all . . .


My Heart Fills with Happiness Cover Image
By Monique Gray Smith, Julie Flett (Illustrator)
$10.95
ISBN: 9781459809574
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! When you order, we'll contact you to confirm when we have it reserved for you.
Published: Orca Book Publishers - March 1st, 2016

The sun on your face. The smell of warm bannock baking in the oven. Holding the hand of someone you love. What fills your heart with happiness? This beautiful board book, with illustrations from celebrated artist Julie Flett, serves as a reminder for little ones and adults alike to reflect on and cherish the moments in life that bring us joy.


Intimations: Six Essays Cover Image
$10.95
ISBN: 9780593297612
Availability: This book is in stock at the warehouse so we can get it for you within a few days.
Published: Penguin Books - July 28th, 2020

“Smith does more than illuminate what we're going through right now. She offers a model of how to think ourselves through a fraught historical moment without getting hysterical or sanctimonious, without losing our compassion or our appreciation for what's good in other people. She teaches us how to be better at being human.” —John Powers, Fresh Air


My Grandmother's Hands: Racialized Trauma and the Pathway to Mending Our Hearts and Bodies Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781942094470
Availability: This book is in stock at the warehouse so we can get it for you within a few days.
Published: Central Recovery Press - September 19th, 2017

A NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"My Grandmother's Hands will change the direction of the movement for racial justice."— Robin DiAngelo, New York Times bestselling author of White Fragility

In this groundbreaking book, therapist Resmaa Menakem examines the damage caused by racism in America from the perspective of trauma and body-centered psychology.


Native Son (Perennial Classics) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780060837563
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! When you order, we'll contact you to confirm when we have it reserved for you.
Published: Harper Perennial Modern Classics - August 2nd, 2005

“If one had to identify the single most influential shaping force in modern Black literary history, one would probably have to point to Wright and the publication of Native Son.” – Henry Louis Gates Jr.


The Voting Booth Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781368053297
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! When you order, we'll contact you to confirm when we have it reserved for you.
Published: Disney-Hyperion - July 7th, 2020

From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love story perfect for fans of The Sun is Also A Star.

Marva Sheridan was born ready for this day. She's always been driven to make a difference in the world, and what better way than to vote in her first election?


The Stars Beneath Our Feet Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781524701277
Availability: This book is in stock at the warehouse so we can get it for you within a few days.
Published: Yearling - January 8th, 2019

"The right story at the right time. . . . It’s not just a narrative; it’s an experience. It’s the novel we’ve been waiting for." —The New York Times

A boy tries to steer a safe path through the projects in Harlem in the wake of his brother’s death in this outstanding debut novel that celebrates community and creativity.


Hidden Figures: The True Story of Four Black Women and the Space Race Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062742469
Availability: This book is backordered at the warehouse. When you order, we'll contact you with more info about availability.
Published: HarperCollins - January 16th, 2018

Based on the New York Times bestselling book and the Academy Award–nominated movie, author Margot Lee Shetterly and Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Award winner Laura Freeman bring the incredibly inspiring true story of four black women who helped NASA launch men into space to picture book readers! 


Catch That Chicken! Cover Image
By Atinuke, Angela Brooksbank (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781536212686
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! When you order, we'll contact you to confirm when we have it reserved for you.
Published: Candlewick - July 7th, 2020

The team behind Baby Goes to Market and B Is for Baby visit a Nigerian village for a humorous ode to childhood ingenuity.


Think Big, Little One (Vashti Harrison) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316475136
Availability: This book is in stock at the warehouse so we can get it for you within a few days.
Published: LB Kids - October 1st, 2019

This board book edition of Little Dreamers: Visionary Women Around the World by New York Times bestselling author Vashti Harrison is a beautiful first book to teach your little dreamers to follow all their biggest ideas.