Palouse Anti-Racist Reading Group

Welcome to the Palouse Anti-Racist Reading Group and thank you for choosing BookPeople of Moscow! This month's selections are listed below for your easy access. A special 10% discount will be added to all applicable materials when you use the discount code that was provided with your reading list. Thank you for doing the work. Thank you for supporting these authors, publishers, and this local business. See you again next month!


PS A note from BookPeople of Moscow about delivery and backordered titles:

BookPeople of Moscow has arranged with Swale for once a week deliveries to Palouse, where customers can pick up their books during Swale's business hours. Swale is located at 125 E Main, Palouse, WA; current hours are: Thur - Sat, 10a - 5p, or by appointment. www.swaleaway.com 

To choose this option please look for "Free Palouse Delivery" in your shipping options that you can choose once you have entered your shipping address.

The nation-wide demand for many of these titles is huge, which is good news. The publishers are in the process of getting the books reprinted and then sent out to our distributors. We have plenty of copies on backorder and will receive them as soon as they're available, so please rest assured that your orders for backordered books will be filled as soon as possible, and will not be canceled, lost, or unfulfilled. Thank you! Carol and staff


August Selections

Non-Fiction: Intimations by Zadie Smith

Fiction: Native Son by Richard Wright

Young Adult: The Voting Booth by Brandy Colbert

Children (10+): The Stars Beneath Our Feet by David Barclay Moore

Children (4-8): Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly

Children (2-5): Catch that Chicken! by Atinuke

Children (0-4): Think Big, Little One by Vashti Harrison


July Selections

Non-Fiction: Well-Read Black Girl by Glory Edim

Workbook: My Grandmother’s Hands: Racialized Trauma and the Pathway to Mending 

Fiction: Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

Young Adult: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Children (8-12): One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia

Children (4-8): Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Peña

Children (0-4): Whose Toes are Those by Jabari Asim


 

Intimations: Six Essays Cover Image
$10.95
ISBN: 9780593297612
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Call to Confirm
Published: Penguin Books - July 28th, 2020

“Smith does more than illuminate what we're going through right now. She offers a model of how to think ourselves through a fraught historical moment without getting hysterical or sanctimonious, without losing our compassion or our appreciation for what's good in other people. She teaches us how to be better at being human.” —John Powers, Fresh Air


Native Son (Perennial Classics) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780060837563
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Call to Confirm
Published: Harper Perennial Modern Classics - August 2nd, 2005

“If one had to identify the single most influential shaping force in modern Black literary history, one would probably have to point to Wright and the publication of Native Son.” – Henry Louis Gates Jr.


The Voting Booth Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781368053297
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Call to Confirm
Published: Disney-Hyperion - July 7th, 2020

From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love story perfect for fans of The Sun is Also A Star.

Marva Sheridan was born ready for this day. She's always been driven to make a difference in the world, and what better way than to vote in her first election?


The Stars Beneath Our Feet Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781524701277
Availability: We can get this book for you, usually within two days.
Published: Yearling - January 8th, 2019

"The right story at the right time. . . . It’s not just a narrative; it’s an experience. It’s the novel we’ve been waiting for." —The New York Times

A boy tries to steer a safe path through the projects in Harlem in the wake of his brother’s death in this outstanding debut novel that celebrates community and creativity.


Hidden Figures: The True Story of Four Black Women and the Space Race Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062742469
Availability: We can get this book for you, usually within two days.
Published: HarperCollins - January 16th, 2018

Based on the New York Times bestselling book and the Academy Award–nominated movie, author Margot Lee Shetterly and Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Award winner Laura Freeman bring the incredibly inspiring true story of four black women who helped NASA launch men into space to picture book readers! 


Catch That Chicken! Cover Image
By Atinuke, Angela Brooksbank (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781536212686
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Call to Confirm
Published: Candlewick - July 7th, 2020

The team behind Baby Goes to Market and B Is for Baby visit a Nigerian village for a humorous ode to childhood ingenuity.


Think Big, Little One (Vashti Harrison) Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780316475136
Availability: We can get this book for you, usually within two days.
Published: LB Kids - October 1st, 2019

This board book edition of Little Dreamers: Visionary Women Around the World by New York Times bestselling author Vashti Harrison is a beautiful first book to teach your little dreamers to follow all their biggest ideas.


Well-Read Black Girl: Finding Our Stories, Discovering Ourselves Cover Image
$20.00
ISBN: 9780525619772
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Call to Confirm
Published: Ballantine Books - October 30th, 2018

NOMINATED FOR AN NAACP IMAGE AWARD • An inspiring collection of essays by black women writers, curated by the founder of the popular book club Well-Read Black Girl, on the importance of recognizing ourselves in literature.


My Grandmother's Hands: Racialized Trauma and the Pathway to Mending Our Hearts and Bodies Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781942094470
Availability: We can get this book for you, usually within two days.
Published: Central Recovery Press - September 19th, 2017

A NATIONAL BESTSELLER

"My Grandmother's Hands will change the direction of the movement for racial justice."— Robin DiAngelo, New York Times bestselling author of White Fragility

In this groundbreaking book, therapist Resmaa Menakem examines the damage caused by racism in America from the perspective of trauma and body-centered psychology.


Homegoing Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781101971062
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Call to Confirm
Published: Vintage - May 2nd, 2017

Ghana, eighteenth century: two half sisters are born into different villages, each unaware of the other. One will marry an Englishman and lead a life of comfort in the palatial rooms of the Cape Coast Castle. The other will be captured in a raid on her village, imprisoned in the very same castle, and sold into slavery.
 


The Hate U Give Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062498533
Availability: We can get this book for you, usually within two days.
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 28th, 2017

8 starred reviews ∙ Goodreads Choice Awards Best of the Best  ∙  William C. Morris Award Winner ∙ National Book Award Longlist ∙ Printz Honor Book ∙ Coretta Scott King Honor Book ∙ #1 New York Times Bestseller!

"Absolutely riveting!" —Jason Reynolds


One Crazy Summer Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780060760908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Call to Confirm
Published: Quill Tree Books - December 27th, 2011

In this Newbery Honor novel, New York Times bestselling author Rita Williams-Garcia tells the story of three sisters who travel to Oakland, California, in 1968 to meet the mother who abandoned them. A strong option for summer reading—take this book along on a family road trip or enjoy it at home.


Last Stop on Market Street Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399257742
Availability: We can get this book for you, usually within two days.
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 8th, 2015

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
USA Today Bestseller


Winner of the 2016 Newbery Medal
A 2016 Caldecott Honor Book
A 2016 Coretta Scott King Illustrator Honor Book

A New York Times Book Review Notable Children's Book of 2015
A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book of 2015


Whose Toes Are Those? Cover Image
By Jabari Asim, LeUyen Pham (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316454322
Availability: We can get this book for you, usually within two days.
Published: LB Kids - March 5th, 2019

p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Times} p.p2 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 13.0px Times; min-height: 16.0px} span.s1 {font-kerning: none} A vibrant, playful verse that celebrates a beautiful brown baby's adorable little toes, for fans of Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes.