Makiia Lucier

Makiia is the author of historical fiction and historical fantasy for young adults. She grew up on the Pacific Island of Guam (not too far from the equator), and has degrees in journalism and library science from the University of Oregon and the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.

Her debut novel, A Death-Struck Year, was called a "powerful and disturbing reading experience" by Publishers Weekly. It was a finalist for Germany's top book prize for children, the Deutscher Jugendliteraturpreis, as well as Japan's Sakura Medal, and was named an ABC Best Books for Children Selection by the American Booksellers Association.

Her second novel, Isle of Blood and Stone, will be available in Spring 2018. www.makiialucier.com

Isle of Blood and Stone Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544968578
Availability: Coming Soon - Please Pre-Order Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - April 10th, 2018

Eighteen years ago, two princes vanished. Now a riddle hidden on a mysterious map could chart a course towards the truth . . . and the missing royals in this historical fantasy that's perfect for fans of And I Darken and Grave Mercy. Nineteen-year-old Elias, a royal mapmaker and friend of the newly crowned king, is eager to explore uncharted waters.


Staff Pick Logo
A Death-Struck Year Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544164505
Availability: We can get this book for you, usually within two days.
Published: Harcourt Brace and Company - March 4th, 2014

For Cleo Berry, the people dying of the Spanish Influenza in cities like New York and Philadelphia may as well be in another country--that's how far away they feel from the safety of Portland, Oregon. And then cases start being reported in the Pacific Northwest. Schools, churches, and theaters shut down. The entire city is thrust into survival mode--and into a panic.