Laura's Picks

Goodnight, Goodnight Construction Site (Hardcover Books for Toddlers, Preschool Books for Kids) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780811877824
Availability: Depending on which warehouse this is in, we can usually get this book to the store for you within a couple of days.
Published: Chronicle Books - May 4th, 2011

The #1 New York Times bestselling children's book

"A standout picture book, especially for those who like wheels with their dreams."
Booklist, starred review


Drummer Hoff Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780671662486
Availability: Depending on which warehouse this is in, we can usually get this book to the store for you within a couple of days.
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers -

A rhyming, vibrantly illustrated picture book based on the folk song of seven soldiers.

Ed Emberley won the 1968 Caldecott Medal for his bold illustrations for Barbara Emberley’s jaunty adaptation of the cumulative folk song about soldiers who build a magnificent cannon and Drummer Hoff, who fires it off.


Llama Llama Red Pajama: Gift Edition Cover Image
By Anna Dewdney, Anna Dewdney (Illustrator)
$26.99
ISBN: 9780451469908
Availability: Depending on which warehouse this is in, we can usually get this book to the store for you within a couple of days.
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - October 21st, 2014

Llama llama

 

red pajama

reads a story

with his mama.

 


Chicka Chicka Boom Boom (Chicka Chicka Book, A) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781442450707
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Little Simon - August 28th, 2012

There is always enough room on your child’s bookshelf for this Classic Board Book edition of the rollicking alphabet chant that has been a children’s favorite for over thirty years!

A told B,
and B told C,
“I’ll meet you at the
top of the coconut tree”


In this lively alphabet rhyme, all the letters of the alphabet race each oth


What I Carry Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780553537710
Availability: Depending on which warehouse this is in, we can usually get this book to the store for you within a couple of days.
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 21st, 2020

"A deeply touching story about survival, hope, and love." --Kathleen Glasgow, New York Times bestselling author of Girl in Pieces

For readers of Robin Benway's Far from the Tree, a powerful and heartwarming look at a teen girl about to age out of the foster care system.


Neanderthal Opens the Door to the Universe Cover Image
Email or call for current price information
ISBN: 9781484798683
Availability: This book is not at our warehouse, but probably is available from another source. We'll contact you to let you know for sure.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 16th, 2019

A “funny and sweetly oddball” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) novel about an odd-couple friendship formed by a mission to make their high school to suck less, for readers “seeking doors to the universe" (Booklist, starred review) and a razor sharp, moving, and outrageously funny read. Cliff Hubbard is a huge loser. Literally.


Severance: A Novel Cover Image
By Ling Ma
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250214997
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Picador - May 7th, 2019

Maybe it’s the end of the world, but not for Candace Chen, a millennial, first-generation American and office drone meandering her way into adulthood in Ling Ma’s offbeat, wryly funny, apocalyptic satire, Severance.

"A stunning, audacious book with a fresh take on both office politics and what the apocalypse might bring." Michael Schaub, NPR.org


Death and Other Happy Endings: A Novel Cover Image
Email or call for current price information
ISBN: 9780525562115
Availability: This book is not at our warehouse, but probably is available from another source. We'll contact you to let you know for sure.
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - July 9th, 2019

There's nothing like being told that in three months you'll be dead to make you think about what you really want in life

"A novel about self-discovery, with plenty of surprises and a snappy, Bridget-Jones-gets-a-terminal-diagnosis vibe." -Booklist


The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency (No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency Series #1) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781400034772
Availability: Depending on which warehouse this is in, we can usually get this book to the store for you within a couple of days.
Published: Anchor - February 6th, 2003

Fans around the world adore the bestselling No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series and its proprietor, Precious Ramotswe, Botswana’s premier lady detective. In this charming series, Mma  Ramotswe—with help from her loyal associate, Grace Makutsi—navigates her cases and her personal life with wisdom, good humor, and the occasional cup of tea.


The Founding Myth: Why Christian Nationalism Is Un-American Cover Image
By Andrew L. Seidel, Susan Jacoby (Foreword by), Dan Barker (Preface by)
$24.95
ISBN: 9781454933274
Availability: This book is backordered at the warehouse. When you order, we'll contact you with more info about availability.
Published: Sterling - May 14th, 2019

Do "In God We Trust," the Declaration of Independence, and other historical "evidence" prove that America was founded on Judeo-Christian principles? Are the Ten Commandments the basis for American law? A constitutional attorney dives into the debate about religion's role in America's founding.


Educated: A Memoir Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399590504
Availability: Depending on which warehouse this is in, we can usually get this book to the store for you within a couple of days.
Published: Random House - February 20th, 2018

#1 NEW YORK TIMES, WALL STREET JOURNAL, AND BOSTON GLOBE BESTSELLER • One of the most acclaimed books of our time: an unforgettable memoir about a young woman who, kept out of school, leaves her survivalist family and goes on to earn a PhD from Cambridge University
 


Staff Pick Badge
Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780307352156
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Crown - January 29th, 2013

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Experience the book that started the Quiet Movement
 
“A smart, lively book about the value of silence and solitude.”—Daniel Gilbert, author of Stumbling on Happiness
 


The Happiness Trap: How to Stop Struggling and Start Living: A Guide to ACT Cover Image
By Russ Harris, Steven C. Hayes, PhD (Foreword by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781590305843
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Trumpeter - June 3rd, 2008

Build a more satisfying and meaningful life with this best-selling guide to freeing yourself from depression, anxiety, and insecurity through Acceptance and Commitment Therapy


The Thursday Murder Club: A Novel (A Thursday Murder Club Mystery #1) Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781984880963
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - September 22nd, 2020

“Witty, endearing and greatly entertaining.” —Wall Street Journal
 
“Don’t trust anyone, including the four septuagenarian sleuths in Osman’s own laugh-out-loud whodunit.” —Parade

Four septuagenarians with a few tricks up their sleeves
A female cop with her first big case
A brutal murder


In Five Years: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982137458
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Atria Books - March 2nd, 2021

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

A Good Morning America, FabFitFun, and Marie Claire Book Club Pick

In Five Years is as clever as it is moving, the rare read-in-one-sitting novel you won’t forget.” —Chloe Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Immortalists


The Midnight Library: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525559474
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Viking - September 29th, 2020

The New York Times bestselling WORLDWIDE phenomenon

Winner of the Goodreads Choice Award for Fiction | A Good Morning America Book Club Pick | Independent (London) Ten Best Books of the Year

"A feel-good book guaranteed to lift your spirits."—The Washington Post


The Reinvention of Albert Paugh Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780989429139
Availability: Depending on which warehouse this is in, we can usually get this book to the store for you within a couple of days.
This book is non-returnable. We will confirm your order with you before placing to be sure you acknowledge and accept.
Published: Endicott & Hugh Books - July 23rd, 2015

The Reinvention of Albert Paugh is a sweet, funny love story about retirees that will delight readers (and dog lovers) of any age. Dr. Albert Paugh is flunking retirement. After selling his Vashon Island veterinary practice, he soon finds himself not only lost without his work, but suddenly single.