If You Liked _____, You’ll Love ______: BookTok Edition

By Richie Bowman

Y’all, I may be a bit late (or very, very early,) but I’m here to talk about gifts. Whether your beloved asks for your TBR or just hands you cash, books are definitely a tricky gift to buy off the top of your head. For us booklovers, the dreaded question “what do you want this year?” seems to have a simple answer. Obviously, it’s books, books, and more books. But this article isn’t just for us. (Okay, it definitely can help us to add to the ever-growing TBR.)

No, this article is mostly to send off to the friends, the relatives, the loved ones who’d love to buy you a new book but just have no clue where to begin. (Hey, relatives! Has your book-lover read this one before? Is this even the genre they like? I’m here to help!)

BookTok is one of the most popular ways that folks find new books these days. It can be an extremely helpful tool, but we know if you already love BookTok, you’ve probably made your way through quite a few of the titles on there. This article is to open your loved one up to some new ideas, with a higher chance that it’ll be new to you, too! (And if your favorite BookTok author is Colleen Hoover, don’t worry, I’m dedicating an article just to her since so many of her titles have exploded in popularity.)

All books talked about will be listed below for your adding-to-cart convenience.

If You Liked The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides, you’ll love My Annihilation by Fuminori Nakamura!

I love a book that keeps me guessing till the final page, and these two fall into that category in spades! If you’re looking for suspense, chills, and a wild twist ending, this translated novel could be the perfect pick!

If You Liked A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara, you’ll love Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi!

Tragedy, queerness, and a lead who can’t catch a break all tie together these two modern classics. Akwaeke Emezi writes about Ada, the host of multiple ogbanje, as she struggles to survive in a world where her body is up for grabs, no matter what she wants from it.

 

If You Liked Normal People by Sally Rooney, you’ll love Moshi Moshi by Banana Yoshimoto!

The world stopped turning for Rooney’s novel about two people finding love even in the most banal of circumstances. Yoshimoto follows the same intimate tone, following Yoshie as she recovers from the death of her father and learns to find love, peace, and a new start. You’ll feel like you’re reading about your best friend by the end.

If You Liked A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson, you’ll love Golden Boys Beware by Hannah Capin!

While Jackson’s taut YA thriller follows a girl trying to solve a mystery, Golden Boys Beware is from the perspective of the criminal. A brilliantly funny modern day retelling of Macbeth, Golden Boys has all the thrills and spills that’ll keep you on the edge of your seat.

If You Liked Red, White, and Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston, you’ll love I’m So (Not) Over You by Kosoko Jackson!

The same kinds of whimsical fun, enemies to lovers tropes, and charming main characters will suck you into this new Kosoko Jackson title. He’s primarily known for writing queer romance, and has dipped his toe in the YA genre just like McQuiston!

If You Liked The Gilded Ones by Namina Forna, you’ll love Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi! 

A special class of magic user fights for equality and equity in this YA fantasy that’ll be right up your alley! Did you cry having to leave Deka behind? Zelie might just become your new best friend, with the same strength and spitfire to offer.

If You Liked Know My Name by Chanel Miller, you’ll love Mean by Myriam Gurba! 

Another heart-wrenching first person account of assault, Myriam Gurba’s Mean takes you through her life as a queer woman, and the assaults from men that shaped her into the tough-as-nails Chicana she is today. Mixed with humor and a lot of meanness, you’ll gasp in shock but love every minute of this memoir.

If You Liked Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, you’ll love Love in Color by Bolu Babalola! 

A debut anthology collection from Babalola, you’ll be reading mythological love stories from around the world. Featuring queer representation, a heavy dose of female protagonists, and more representation for people of color, this is a can’t-miss collection that’s the perfect next step in your mythology journey!

If You Liked The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes, you’ll love The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin!

I’m always a sucker for watching money make the worst of folks, and these are two prime examples. Whether it’s the ensemble cast, the wacky antics, or the race to the finish, The Westing Game gives all the fun that Barnes offers in her popular new trilogy.

If You Liked Act Your Age, Eve Brown by Talia Hibbert, you’ll love Fake it Till You Bake It by Jamie Wesley!

Looking for low-stakes, high charm, and a strong, beautiful woman at the forefront? Both these books follow brilliant women who need to do a little growing up, but find humor and heart through life anyway… especially when they stumble on that special guy.

 

I hope these picks help you on your way, whether you're gift hunting for a loved one or trying to spend those Christmas gift cards!

The Silent Patient By Alex Michaelides Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250301703
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Celadon Books - May 4th, 2021

**THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER**

"An unforgettable—and Hollywood-bound—new thriller... A mix of Hitchcockian suspense, Agatha Christie plotting, and Greek tragedy."
Entertainment Weekly


My Annihilation By Fuminori Nakamura, Sam Bett (Translated by) Cover Image
By Fuminori Nakamura, Sam Bett (Translated by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781641294072
Availability: This book is backordered at the warehouse. When you order, we'll contact you with more info about availability.
Published: Soho Crime - December 6th, 2022

What transforms a person into a killer? Can it be something as small as a suggestion?

Turn this page, and you may forfeit your entire life.

With My Annihilation, Fuminori Nakamura, master of literary noir, has constructed a puzzle box of a narrative in the form of a confessional diary that implicates its reader in a heinous crime.


A Little Life By Hanya Yanagihara Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780804172707
Availability: This book was in stock at the store 24 hours ago but could have sold since then. Please call to confirm if your order is urgent.
Published: Anchor - January 26th, 2016

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A stunning “portrait of the enduring grace of friendship” (NPR) about the families we are born into, and those that we make for ourselves. A masterful depiction of love in the twenty-first century.


Freshwater By Akwaeke Emezi Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780802128997
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Grove Press - December 18th, 2018

A National Book Foundation "5 Under 35" Honoree
Finalist for the PEN/Hemingway Award for a Debut Novel
Shortlisted for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize
A New York Times Notable Book


Normal People: A Novel By Sally Rooney Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781984822185
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Crown - February 18th, 2020

NOW AN EMMY-NOMINATED HULU ORIGINAL SERIES • NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • LONGLISTED FOR THE BOOKER PRIZE • “A stunning novel about the transformative power of relationships” (People) from the author of Conversations with Friends, “a master of the literary page-turner” (J. Courtney Sullivan).
 


Moshi Moshi: A Novel By Banana Yoshimoto, Asa Yoneda (Translated by) Cover Image
By Banana Yoshimoto, Asa Yoneda (Translated by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781640090156
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Counterpoint - November 14th, 2017

"A beautiful translation . . . Yoshimoto deploys a magically Japanese light touch to emotionally and existentially tough subject matter: domestic disarray, loneliness, identity issues, lovesickness . . . [a] nimble narrative." ―ELLE


A Good Girl's Guide to Murder By Holly Jackson Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781984896391
Availability: This book was in stock at the store 24 hours ago but could have sold since then. Please call to confirm if your order is urgent.
Published: Ember - January 5th, 2021

THE MUST-READ MULTIMILLION BESTSELLING MYSTERY SERIES • Everyone is talking about A Good Girl's Guide to Murder! With shades of Serial and Making a Murderer this is the story about an investigation turned obsession, full of twists and turns and with an ending you'll never expect.

Everyone in Fairview knows the story.


Golden Boys Beware: A Novel By Hannah Capin Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250239563
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
This book is non-returnable except in the case of manufacturing defect.
Published: Wednesday Books - October 12th, 2021

For the girls who have had enough – Hannah Capin’s Golden Boys Beware, originally published as Foul is Fair, is the bloody, thrilling revenge fantasy that reimagines Lady Macbeth’s story for the modern day.


Red, White & Royal Blue: A Novel By Casey McQuiston Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250316776
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - May 14th, 2019

* Instant NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY bestseller *
* GOODREADS CHOICE AWARD WINNER for BEST DEBUT and BEST ROMANCE of 2019 *

* BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR* for VOGUE, NPR, VANITY FAIR, and more! *

What happens when America's First Son falls in love with the Prince of Wales?


I'm So (Not) Over You By Kosoko Jackson Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593334447
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Berkley - February 22nd, 2022

"Shine[s] with a beautiful, blooming sense of wonder.”—New York Times Book Review

A 2023 LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD WINNER!

One of...
Entertainment Weekly's 10 Best LGBTQ+ Romance Novels of the Last Five Years
Essence's New Books We Can’t Wait To Read In 2022
Oprah Daily’s Most Anticipated Romance Novels of 2022


The Gilded Ones By Namina Forna Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9781984848710
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Ember - January 11th, 2022

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY TEEN VOGUE
 
"A dark feminist tale spun with blood and gold. Must read!" –Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Belles
 


Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orisha #1) By Tomi Adeyemi Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781250170972
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 6th, 2018

An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller
A TIME Top 100 Fantasy Books of All Time
A New York Times Notable Children's Book
A Kirkus Prize Finalist


Know My Name: A Memoir By Chanel Miller Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780735223721
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Penguin Books - August 18th, 2020

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"Know My Name is a gut-punch, and in the end, somehow, also blessedly hopeful."
--Washington Post


Mean By Myriam Gurba Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781566894913
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Coffee House Press - November 7th, 2017

Gurba grows up queer, chicana, and take no prisoners. Her story is a revelation, a delight, and an eye-opener.


The Song of Achilles: A Novel By Madeline Miller Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062060624
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Ecco - August 28th, 2012

A New York Times Bestseller

“At once a scholar’s homage to The Iliad and startlingly original work of art….A book I could not put down.” —Ann Patchett, author of The Dutch House


Love in Color: Mythical Tales from Around the World, Retold By Bolu Babalola Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063078505
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - April 26th, 2022

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

"Love stories by and about marginalized women . . . The heroines are strong and sure . . . Babalola’s writing shines.” — New York Times Book Review


The Inheritance Games By Jennifer Lynn Barnes Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780759555402
Availability: This book was in stock at the store 24 hours ago but could have sold since then. Please call to confirm if your order is urgent.
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - July 27th, 2021

OVER 4 MILLION COPIES SOLD OF THE #1 BESTSELLING SERIES!

Don't miss this New York Times bestselling "impossible to put down" (Buzzfeed) novel with deadly stakes, thrilling twists, and juicy secrets—perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.


Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win


The Westing Game By Ellen Raskin Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780593526712
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Puffin Books - September 28th, 2021

A Newbery Medal Winner

For over thirty-five years, Ellen Raskin's Newbery Medal-winning The Westing Game has been an enduring favorite.


Act Your Age, Eve Brown: A Novel (The Brown Sisters #3) By Talia Hibbert Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062941275
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Avon - March 9th, 2021

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

In Talia Hibbert’s newest rom-com, the flightiest Brown sister crashes into the life of an uptight B&B owner and has him falling hard—literally.


Fake It Till You Bake It: A Novel By Jamie Wesley Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250801852
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - June 21st, 2022

A reality star and a cupcake-baking football player pretend to be a couple in order to save his bakery in this sweet and sexy romance from Jamie Wesley, Fake It Till You Bake It.