Eija's Summer Reading List

Moimoi—Look at Me!: A High Contrast Board Book with Shapes, Colors, and Sounds to Soothe Your Crying Baby Cover Image
By Dr. Kazuo Hiraki (Editor), Jun Ichihara (Illustrator)
$7.95
ISBN: 9781615197804
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: The Experiment - April 6th, 2021

A playful high-contrast board book from the University of Tokyo “Baby Lab”—scientifically proven to hold baby’s attention 
 
“Full of delicious colors and . . . real charm.”—The Wall Street Journal
 
What are moimoi? Playful moimoi have bold stripes and big, bright eyes.


Tag Team (El Toro and Friends) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780358380399
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Versify - May 4th, 2021

Luchadores El Toro and La Oink Oink are the perfect tag team as they clean up together in this playful and visually stunning early reader!


Training Day (El Toro and Friends) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780358380382
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Versify - May 4th, 2021

Readers will fall in love with Raúl the Third’s unique visual style as Kooky Dooky helps luchador El Toro train for his next wrestling match! Perfect for readers of Elephant and Piggie, comic book fans, and kids looking to practice both Spanish and English.

Little Lobo introduced readers to his wrestling hero El Toro in Vamos!


Grandpa Across the Ocean Cover Image
By Hyewon Yum, Hyewon Yum (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781419742255
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Abrams Books for Young Readers - April 27th, 2021

Though separated by language, age, and an ocean, a child and grandparent find common ground in this warm, witty picture book

Grandpa lives on the other side of the ocean.
He takes naps all the time. He eats different foods. He speaks an unfamiliar language. His house is the most boring place on Earth!
Or is it?


Wonder Walkers Cover Image
By Micha Archer, Micha Archer (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593109649
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - March 30th, 2021

Micha Archer's gorgeous, detailed collages give readers a fresh outlook on the splendors of nature.


Bodies Are Cool Cover Image
By Tyler Feder, Tyler Feder (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593112625
Availability: This book is backordered at the warehouse. When you order, we'll contact you with more info about availability.
Published: Dial Books - June 1st, 2021

This cheerful love-your-body picture book for preschoolers is an exuberant read-aloud with bright and friendly illustrations to pore over.
 


Trouble with Tattle-Tails (The Fabled Stables Book #2) Cover Image
By Jonathan Auxier, Olga Demidova (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781419742729
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Amulet Books - May 18th, 2021

Book 2 in The Fabled Stables series from New York Times bestselling author Jonathan Auxier introduces a new one-of-a-kind creature: the Tattle-Tail!

Auggie and his magical companions are tending to the Fabled Stables when the building shakes and shudders to make room for a new arrival: the Tattle-Tail.


Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062970428
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 4th, 2021

“Utterly endearing!” —Annie Barrows, New York Times-bestselling author of the Ivy + Bean books

"Hilarious and heart-melting.” —Sara Pennypacker, New York Times-bestselling author of Pax


Katie the Catsitter Cover Image
By Colleen AF Venable, Stephanie Yue (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984895639
Availability: Depending on which warehouse this is in, we can usually get this book to the store for you within a couple of days.
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 5th, 2021

Calling all Raina Telgemeier fans! Introducing an irresistible new middle-grade graphic novel series about growing up, friendship, heroes, and cats (lots of cats!)--perfect for fans of Guts, Awkward and Real Friends (not to mention anyone who loves cats!)


Pawcasso Cover Image
By Remy Lai, Remy Lai (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250774491
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Henry Holt and Co. BYR Paperbacks - May 25th, 2021

Remy Lai, the award-winning creator of Pie in the Sky makes her middle-grade graphic novel debut, Pawcasso, about the unexpected friendship between the loneliest girl in class and the coolest canine in town.

"It's tail-wagging entertaining!" —Kelly Yang, New York Times bestselling author of Front Desk


Healer of the Water Monster Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062990402
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Heartdrum - May 11th, 2021

Brian Young’s powerful debut novel tells of a seemingly ordinary Navajo boy who must save the life of a Water Monster—and comes to realize he’s a hero at heart.


Starfish Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984814500
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - March 9th, 2021

Ellie is tired of being fat-shamed and does something about it in this poignant debut novel-in-verse.


Last Gate of the Emperor Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338665857
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Scholastic Press - May 4th, 2021

From Kwame Mbalia and Prince Joel David Makonnen comes an Afrofuturist adventure about a mythical Ethiopian empire. Sci-fi and fantasy combine in this epic journey to the stars.

Yared Heywat lives an isolated life in Addis Prime -- a hardscrabble city with rundown tech, lots of rules, and not much to do. His worrywart Uncle Moti and bionic lioness Besa are his only family...


Force of Fire Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338636642
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Scholastic Press - June 1st, 2021

From New York Times bestselling author Sayantani DasGupta comes the story of a demon who must embrace her bad to serve the greater good.

Pinki hails from a long line of rakkhosh resisters, demons who have spent years building interspecies relationships, working together to achieve their goal of overthrowing the snakey oppressors and taking back their rights.


Instructions for Dancing Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781524718961
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Delacorte Press - June 1st, 2021

AN INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

"A charming, wholehearted love story that's sure to make readers swoon."—Entertainment Weekly

"Nicola Yoon writes from the heart in this beautiful love story."—Good Morning America


Firekeeper's Daughter Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250766564
Availability: Depending on which warehouse this is in, we can usually get this book to the store for you within a couple of days.
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - March 16th, 2021

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK

An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller

Soon to be adapted at Netflix for TV with President Barack Obama and Michelle Obama's production company, Higher Ground.

“One of this year's most buzzed about young adult novels.” —Good Morning America


The Darkness Outside Us Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062888280
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - June 1st, 2021

They Both Die at the End meets The Loneliest Girl in the Universe in this mind-bending sci-fi mystery and tender love story about two boys aboard a spaceship sent on a rescue mission, from two-time National Book Award finalist Eliot Schrefer.

Two boys, alone in space. Sworn enemies sent on the same rescue mission.


Realm Breaker Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062872623
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: HarperTeen - May 4th, 2021

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller! 

Irresistibly action-packed and full of lethal surprises, this stunning new fantasy series from Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Red Queen series, begins where hope is lost and asks: When the heroes have fallen, who will take up the sword?


Tokyo Ever After: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250766601
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Flatiron Books - May 18th, 2021

The New York Times bestseller and Reese Witherspoon x Hello Sunshine YA Book Club Pick! Emiko Jean’s Tokyo Ever After is the “refreshing, spot-on” (Booklist, starred review) story of an ordinary Japanese-American girl who discovers that her father is the Crown Prince of Japan.


Blackout Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063088092
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Quill Tree Books - June 22nd, 2021

Six critically acclaimed, bestselling, and award-winning authors bring the glowing warmth and electricity of Black teen love to this interlinked novel of charming, hilarious, and heartwarming stories that shine a bright light through the dark.


XOXO Cover Image
By Axie Oh
$17.99
ISBN: 9780063024991
Availability: Depending on which warehouse this is in, we can usually get this book to the store for you within a couple of days.
Published: HarperTeen - July 13th, 2021

Jenny’s never had much time for boys, K-pop, or really anything besides her dream of being a professional cellist. But when she finds herself falling for a K-pop idol, she has to decide whether their love is worth the risk.


In the Shadow of the Moon: America, Russia, and the Hidden History of the Space Race Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062888754
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Balzer + Bray - February 9th, 2021

An exhilarating dive into the secret history of humankind’s race to the moon, from acclaimed author Amy Cherrix. This fascinating and immersive read is perfect for fans of Steve Sheinkin’s Bomb and M. T. Anderson’s Symphony for the City of the Dead.

You’ve heard of the space race, but do you know the whole story?


The Anthropocene Reviewed (Signed Edition): Essays on a Human-Centered Planet Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525555216
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Dutton - May 18th, 2021

Instant #1 bestseller! A deeply moving collection of personal essays from John Green, the author of The Fault in Our Stars and Turtles All the Way Down.

“The perfect book for right now.” –People


Crying in H Mart: A Memoir Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525657743
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Knopf - April 20th, 2021

NEW YORK TIMES BEST SELLER • A Best Book of 2021: Entertainment Weekly, Good Morning America, Wall Street Journal, and more


Digital Minimalism: Choosing a Focused Life in a Noisy World Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525536512
Availability: On Our Shelves Now! We'll contact you to confirm availability after you order.
Published: Portfolio - February 5th, 2019

A New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Publishers Weekly, and USA Today bestseller

"Newport is making a bid to be the Marie Kondo of technology: someone with an actual plan for helping you realize the digital pursuits that do, and don't, bring value to your life."--Ezra Klein, Vox