Bre's Picks

I've been living in Moscow since 2013, first as a University of Idaho student, and now as a part of this wonderful community. I was first hired at BookPeople towards the end of 2017 as a VERY part-time worker with another full-time job, and then moved up to full time staff a couple years later.  I've been co-manager since 2021, and now co-owner since 2023, and am beyond grateful that I get to spend my days surrounded by books and an amazing staff! My tastes for what I'm currently reading vary depending on my mood (I'm sure many of you, my fellow book lovers, can sympathize), but some genres I find myself coming back to again and again are young adult, mystery/ thrillers, historical fiction, and romance. I've made a goal to read 30,000 pages in 2024 and I'm over halfway as of June!

Finlay Donovan Is Killing It: A Novel (The Finlay Donovan Series #1) By Elle Cosimano Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250830449
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Minotaur Books - January 4th, 2022

"Getting the job done" for one single mom takes on a whole new meaning in Finlay Donovan is Killing It.

A USA Today bestseller!
One of Suspense Magazine's "Best Thrillers of 2021"
One of New York Public Library's Best Books of 2021
Nominated for the Left Coast Crime 2022 Lefty Award for the Best Humorous Mystery


Touching the Art By Mattilda Bernstein Sycamore Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781593767358
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Soft Skull - November 7th, 2023

A daringly observant memoir about intergenerational trauma, fine art, and compartmentalization from a returning Soft Skull author and Lambda Literary Award winner


Don't Want You Like a Best Friend: A Novel (The Mischief & Matchmaking Series #1) By Emma R. Alban Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780063312005
Availability: This book was in stock at the store 24 hours ago but could have sold since then. Please call to confirm if your order is urgent.
Published: Avon - January 9th, 2024

A swoon-worthy debut queer Victorian romance in which two debutantes distract themselves from having to seek husbands by setting up their widowed parents, and instead find their perfect match in each other—the lesbian Bridgerton/Parent Trap you never knew you needed!

Gwen has a brilliant beyond brilliant idea.


The Ministry of Time: A Novel By Kaliane Bradley Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781668045145
Availability: This book was in stock at the store 24 hours ago but could have sold since then. Please call to confirm if your order is urgent.
Published: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster - May 7th, 2024

“If youre a fan of Outlander, spy novels, time travel books, or just really innovative and fun storytelling, The Ministry of Time is definitely for you.” —Town & Country, 45 Must-Read Books of Spring 2024

Part time travel romance, part spy thriller and 100% “multi-faceted joyride&


And Yet: Poems By Kate Baer Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780063115552
Availability: This book was in stock at the store 24 hours ago but could have sold since then. Please call to confirm if your order is urgent.
Published: Harper Perennial - November 8th, 2022

The second full length poetry collection from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of What Kind of Woman.

Kate Baer shot into the literary stratosphere with the publication of her debut poetry collection, What Kind of Woman, which became an instant #1 New York Times bestseller.


Gender Queer: A Memoir Deluxe Edition By Maia Kobabe Cover Image
$34.99
ISBN: 9781637150726
Availability: This book was in stock at the store 24 hours ago but could have sold since then. Please call to confirm if your order is urgent.
Published: Oni Press - July 5th, 2022

2020 ALA Alex Award Winner
2020 Stonewall — Israel Fishman Non-fiction Award Honor Book


In 2014, Maia Kobabe, who uses e/em/eir pronouns, thought that a comic of reading statistics would be the last autobiographical comic e would ever write. At the time, it was the only thing e felt comfortable with strangers knowing about em. Then e created Gender Queer.


Yellowface: A Reese's Book Club Pick By R. F. Kuang Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780063250833
Availability: This book was in stock at the store 24 hours ago but could have sold since then. Please call to confirm if your order is urgent.
Published: William Morrow - May 16th, 2023

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A REESE'S BOOK CLUB PICK

“Hard to put down, harder to forget.” — Stephen King, #1 New York Times bestselling author


Imogen, Obviously By Becky Albertalli Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780063045880
Availability: This book was in stock at the store 24 hours ago but could have sold since then. Please call to confirm if your order is urgent.
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 7th, 2024

A Stonewall Honor Book · A New York Times and Indie bestseller!

“A bighearted, deeply vulnerable, love-bubbly tumble through self-discovery.” —Casey McQuiston, author of the #1 New York Times bestselling I Kissed Shara Wheeler


The Someday Daughter By Ellen O'Clover Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780063255081
Availability: This book was in stock at the store 24 hours ago but could have sold since then. Please call to confirm if your order is urgent.
Published: HarperTeen - February 20th, 2024

Perfect for fans of Rachel Lynn Solomon, Mary H. K. Choi, and Alex Light! From the critically acclaimed author of Seven Percent of Ro Devereux comes another heartrending and nuanced novel about family, love, and the cost of ambition.


Wolf Gone Wild: Stay a Spell Book 1 Volume 1 By Juliette Cross Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781454953623
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Union Square & Co. - October 3rd, 2023

Toad: A Novel By Katherine Dunn, Molly Crabapple (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Katherine Dunn, Molly Crabapple (Foreword by)
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250872296
Availability: This book was in stock at the store 24 hours ago but could have sold since then. Please call to confirm if your order is urgent.
Published: Picador - October 31st, 2023

A previously unpublished novel of the reflections of a deeply scarred and reclusive woman, from the cult icon Katherine Dunn, the author of Geek Love.


Bride By Ali Hazelwood Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9780593550403
Availability: This book was in stock at the store 24 hours ago but could have sold since then. Please call to confirm if your order is urgent.
Published: Berkley - February 6th, 2024

#1 Indie Next Pick!
A Hall of Fame LibraryReads pick!
One of People’s Best Books to Read in February


Goodbye, Again: Essays, Reflections, and Illustrations By Jonny Sun Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780062880857
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Harper Perennial - April 20th, 2021

Instant New York Times Bestseller 

“Truly, there's no shame in taking a break from books during the pandemic. But if you're feeling ready to reach out, try starting with Goodbye, Again. Take my word for it — let Jonny Sun into your life.”---Janet W. Lee, NPR


When Women Were Dragons: A Novel By Kelly Barnhill Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593466575
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Anchor - May 16th, 2023

A GOODREADS BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR • A fiery feminist fantasy tale set in 1950s America where thousands of women have spontaneously transformed into dragons, exploding notions of a woman’s place in the world and expanding minds about accepting others for who they really are.
 


Above Ground By Clint Smith Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316543033
Availability: This book was in stock at the store 24 hours ago but could have sold since then. Please call to confirm if your order is urgent.
Published: Little, Brown and Company - March 28th, 2023

A Best Book of the Year 2023:

TIME
NPR’s Best Books
New York Public Library
Electric Lit
The Root
NBC Today
Mother Jones

The New York Times bestselling poetry collection with "inextinguishable generosity and abundant wisdom" (Monica Youn) from Clint Smith, author of #1 bestseller and National Book Crit


I Capture the Castle: Deluxe Edition By Dodie Smith, Jenny Han (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Dodie Smith, Jenny Han (Foreword by)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250146694
Availability: This book was in stock at the store 24 hours ago but could have sold since then. Please call to confirm if your order is urgent.
Published: Wednesday Books - October 10th, 2017

“Every time I meet someone who also loves I Capture the Castle, I know we must be kindred spirits.” —from the new foreword by Jenny Han, the New York Times bestselling author of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.


I Kissed Shara Wheeler: A Novel By Casey McQuiston Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250244451
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Wednesday Books - May 3rd, 2022

*INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER*
*INSTANT #1 INDIE BESTSELLER*
*INSTANT USA TODAY BESTSELLER*

From the New York Times bestselling author of One Last Stop and Red, White & Royal Blue comes a romantic comedy about chasing down what you want, only to find what you need...


Writers & Lovers By Lily King Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780802148544
Availability: Depending on warehouse location, this book could arrive at the store within 3-4 days, or it might take around 10 business days.
Published: Grove Press - February 16th, 2021

#ReadWithJenna Book Club Pick as Featured on Today
Emma Roberts Belletrist Book Club Pick
A New York Times Book Review's Group Text Selection