Ten: The New Wave (Paperback)

Ten: The New Wave Cover Image
By Karen McCarthy Woolf (Editor)
Email or call for price.


Ten: the new wave presents poetry from some of the most exciting new poets in Britain today. These ten poets were selected for The Complete Works 2 mentoring project, a groundbreaking initiative to promote diversity and quality in British poetry, initiated by the writer Bernardine Evaristo. The poets follow on from the first group to take part in this scheme, whose work was published in Bernardine Evaristo and Daljit Nagra's anthology Ten: new poets from Spread the Word (2010). Most of those poets have gone on to win awards and have their poetry collections published. The new poets in this anthology are Mona Arshi, Jay Bernard, Kayo Chingonyi, Rishi Dastidar, Edward Doegar, Inua Ellams, Sarah Howe, Adam Lowe, Eileen Pun and Warsan Shire. These poets have backgrounds in Asia, Europe, the Caribbean and Africa, and their work draws on their multicultural heritage and tapestry. Many of them also work across art forms and have enjoyed success as playwrights, graphic artists and even in the martial arts. Talented, adventurous and culturally rich, these poets will open up new landscapes for the reader.

About the Author

Karen McCarthy Woolf writes poetry, drama and short fiction for print, online, broadcast and live platforms. In 2005 her play Dido, based on the life of a mixed-race girl who grew up in Kenwood House, Hampstead in the 1760s, was broadcast on BBC Radio 4. She was also writer in residence at the Museum of Garden History and literature development agency Spread the Word. Her poetry chapbook The Worshipful Company of Pomegranate Slicers was selected as a New Statesman Book of the Year in 2006. her first full-length collection, An Aviary of Small Birds, is published by Carcanet in 2014. She has taught creative writing for agencies The Photographers' Gallery, City Lit, Southbank Centre, English PEN, the Arvon Foundation and others. In 2010 a selection of her recent poetry was published in Ten: new poets from Spread the Word (Bloodaxe, ed. Bernardine Evaristo and Daljit Nagra), an anthology showcasing the work of ten new poets selected for the The Complete Works development programme, and in 2014 her anthology Ten: the next wave is published by Bloodaxe with the Complete Works. She has also edited two other anthologies, Bittersweet: Black Women's Contemporary Poetry (The Women's Press, 1998) and Kin (Serpent's Tail, 2004). She is an associate editor of Wasafiri, on the editorial board of Magma, and reviews for Modern Poetry in Translation.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781780371108
ISBN-10: 1780371101
Publisher: Bloodaxe Books
Publication Date: September 25th, 2014
Pages: 160
Language: English