The Mysterious Benedict Society (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
The Mysterious Benedict Society Cover Image
By Trenton Lee Stewart, Carson Ellis (Illustrator)
$9.99
On Our Shelves Now - Call to Confirm
Book People of Moscow
On hand as of Jul 17 10:40pm
(Middle Reader)

Staff Reviews


Reviewed by Avi G:

    The Mysterious Benedict Society is about a boy named Reynie and his three friends who pass three mysterious tests in order to meet a man named Mr. Benedict. Mr. Benedict says that there is a man named Mr. Curtain who has a school and is training the students to think certain thoughts so he can put the thoughts into people's minds without them realizing it.  It is about the four children, Reynie Muldoon, Kate Wetherall, Constance Contraire, and George ( Sticky ) Washington, and how they have to find a way to disable the “Whisperer”, as Mr.  Curtain calls his brain sweeper machine.  You may find that many of the troubles The Mysterious Benedict Society faces are also problems you face.
    Trenton Lee Stuart did an amazing job creating a mystery novel  for all ages.  It may be a little long for younger readers, but everyone will enjoy it.  As I said before, it is a mystery novel, so fans of mystery and realistic fiction will like this book, especially if they like longer reads.  There are a variety of themes, from never giving up to always believing in yourself. You might find that you could connect  with one of the character’s personality or strengths.  No matter your age, how fast or slow you read, I believe you should experience the riddles and mysteries of The Mysterious Benedict Society.  

— From Palouse Prairie Student Book Reviews

Description


For fans of Lemony Snicket and Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library, this first book in the bestselling, award-winning Mysterious Benedict Society Series is not to be missed!

"Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities?" Dozens of children respond to this peculiar ad in the newspaper and are then put through a series of mind-bending tests, which readers take along with them. Only four children--two boys and two girls--succeed. Their challenge: to go on a secret mission that only the most intelligent and inventive children could complete. To accomplish it they will have to go undercover at the Learning Institute for the Very Enlightened, where the only rule is that there are no rules. But what they'll find in the hidden underground tunnels of the school is more than your average school supplies. So, if you're gifted, creative, or happen to know Morse Code, they could probably use your help.

About the Author


Trenton Lee Stewart is the author of the award-winning and New York Times bestselling Mysterious Benedict Society series. He lives in Little Rock, Arkansas.

Carson Ellis received her BFA from the University of Montana and has established a loyal following for her artistic collaborations with the band the Decemberists. She lives in Portland, Oregon.

Praise For…


"Great cast of characters, lots of cool puzzles and mysteries. This book reminded me of some of the better children's books I grew up with, like Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and The Phantom Tollbooth."—Rick Riordan

"Begins with a bang... resembles the otherwordly experience of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory."—Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Fans of Roald Dahl or Blue Balliett will find a familiar blend of kid power, clues, and adventure."—School Library Journal, starred review

"Tackles personal concerns: abandonment, family, loyalty, and facing one's fears."—Booklist, starred review

"Dashes of mild humor and introspection rest on a solid base of suspense, mystery, and well-rounded characters, making this a satisfying dish for readers of varying tastes."—The Bulletin, starred review

"Do not miss this one. Buy two copies because they will be needed."—VOYA

"Real flashlight under the bedclothes material... this story flies past, thrilling us as it goes."—Horn Book


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316003957
ISBN-10: 0316003956
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: April 2008
Pages: 512
Language: English
Series: The Mysterious Benedict Society