Megan Kruse and Kim Barnes - Reading/Discussion/Signing - March 24, 7pm

BookPeople is proud to host and evening of reading and discussion between authors Megan Kruse and Kim Barnes. Light refreshments will be provided, with beer and wine available for purchase.

Megan Kruse is a fiction and creative nonfiction writer from the Pacific Northwest. She studied creative writing at Oberlin College and earned her MFA at the University of Montana, where she was awarded a Bertha Morton scholarship. Her creative writing has appeared in Narrative Magazine, The Sun, Witness Magazine, Thumbnail MagazineBellingham Review, and Phoebe, among others. Her recently published novel, Call Me Home, has received a starred review from Publishers Weekly and called "a powerful debut novel told with ferocity and grace." Find out more about Megan Kruse at http://megannicolekruse.com/

Kim Barnes’s first memoir, In the Wilderness: Coming of Age in Unknown Country, received the PEN/Jerard Fund and was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. She is the author of three novels: Finding Caruso; A Country Called Home, winner of the 2009 PEN Center USA Literary Award in Fiction and named a Best Book of 2008 by The Washington Post, Kansas City Star, and The Oregonian; and, most recently, In the Kingdom of Men, named a Best Book of 2012 by San Francisco Chronicle, The Oregonian, and The Seattle Times. Her work has appeared in a number of magazines and anthologies, including The New York Times, WSJ Online, The Georgia Review, Shenandoah, Oprah Magazine, and the Pushcart Prize anthology.  Barnes teaches at the University of Idaho. You can learn more at www.kimbarnes.com

 

Event date: 
Tuesday, March 24, 2015 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
521 S Main St
83843 Moscow
us
Staff Pick Logo
Call Me Home Cover Image
By Megan Kruse, Elizabeth Gilbert (Introduction by)
$18.95
ISBN: 9780990437000
Availability: We can get this book for you, usually within two days.
Published: Hawthorne Books - March 3rd, 2015

Call Me Home has an epic scope in the tradition of Louise Erdrich's The Plague of Doves or Marilynne Robinson's Housekeeping and braids the stories of a family in three distinct voices: Amy, who leaves her Texas home at 19 to start a new life with a man she barely knows, and her two children, Jackson and Lydia, who are rocked by their parents' abusive relationship.


In the Wilderness: Coming of Age in Unknown Country Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780385478212
Availability: We can get this book for you, usually within two days.
Published: Anchor Books - February 14th, 1997

Poet Kim Barnes grew up in northern Idaho, in the isolated camps where her father worked as a logger and her mother made a modest but comfortable home for her husband and two children. Their lives were short on material wealth, but long on the riches of family and friendship, and the great sheltering power of the wilderness.


In the Kingdom of Men Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780307474698
Availability: On Our Shelves Now - Call to Confirm
Published: Anchor Books - February 12th, 2013

Raised in a two-room shack by her strict Oklahoma grandfather, Gin Mitchell knows a better life awaits her when she marries hometown hero Mason McPhee. Even so, nothing can prepare her for what’s to come when Mason takes a job with the Arabian American Oil company in 1960s Saudi Arabia.